Add, Edit, Deactivate, or Reactivate Users

If you are an Administrator, you can manage users within your account. If you aren't an Administrator user, please contact your Administrator to manage users.

Jump to:


Add a user

  1. Select Settings
  2. We're currently rolling out a fresh new look for our Settings page, so you may see one of 2 designs. Please follow the steps that match what your Settings page looks like.

    Select Users under the Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: Settings Page

    Select Users under the Roles & Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: New Settings Page
  3. Select New
  4. Enter your team member's information
    • First name
    • Last name
    • Email address
    • Time Zone
    • Select a role
      • Note: on Subscription-Free basic accounts, the only role available is Administrator
  5. If you are adding a user to a client on an accountant's console, and the email domain of the new user matches yours, check the box This person belongs to 'name of accounting firm' if you want the new user to also be added to the console as a Team Member automatically
    • If you check this box, please allow up to 5 minutes for the user to appear on the console
    • This is important to avoid possible extra charges if the user is also a console team member that you have not added to the console yet
    • If the user is already on the console, leave this box unchecked
  6. Select Save

Users pending Dual Control approval

If you have Dual Control enabled, new users will be pending approval after you add them. You can view users pending approval in the user list.

  1. Select Settings
  2. We're currently rolling out a fresh new look for our Settings page, so you may see one of 2 designs. Please follow the steps that match what your Settings page looks like.

    Select Users under the Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: Settings Page

    Select Users under the Roles & Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: New Settings Page
  3. Check Show Pending Users

Any users with the Pending status under the Active? column are pending Dual Control approval. Another Administrator user must approver the user before they can access the account.


What the new user sees

We send the new user an email with instructions to activate their profile and create a password.

Note: the new user invitation email link expires after 30 days. If the new user uses the expired link, we'll take them through a quick process to get a new link.


Troubleshooting

If the new user doesn't receive their welcome email, or they accidentally delete it, they can get a password reset email:

  1. Go to Bill.com
  2. Select Login
  3. Select Reset your password

Edit a user

  1. Select Settings
  2. We're currently rolling out a fresh new look for our Settings page, so you may see one of 2 designs. Please follow the steps that match what your Settings page looks like.

    Select Users under the Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: Settings Page

    Select Users under the Roles & Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: New Settings Page
  3. Select the user's name
  4. Select the edit icon
  5. From this page, you can update the user's:
    • First name
    • Last name
    • Time Zone
    • Role
    • You cannot edit your own role within an account. To edit your role, another administrator or user with a custom role that includes manage users permissions will need to make the change.
    • You cannot edit your name if you are verified on a bank account, because we've verified your identity to allow you to use the bank account
      • If you have legally changed your name, contact Customer Support by selecting Contact Us at the top of this page to request a name change

Note: A user's email address cannot be edited from this page. On Advanced accounts (full Payables and/or Receivables), contact Customer Support by selecting Contact us on this page to request a change to your login email address. There's a security review before updating the email address though, so a change may not always be possible.


Deactivate a user

If you need to remove a user from your Bill.com account so they no longer have access to sensitive financial data, or restore access to a previously deactivated user, use the steps below. You can also restore users if needed.

We're currently rolling out a fresh new look for our Settings page, so you may see one of 2 designs. Please follow the steps that match what your Settings page looks like.

  1. Select Settings
  2. Select Users under the Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this:
    Settings Page
  3. Select the name of the user
  4. Select the Delete icon

    or

    1. Select Settings
    2. Select Users under the Roles & Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this:

    New Settings Page

    1. Select the name of the user
    2. Select the Remove icon

    Note: If you deactivate the user who setup your sync, an existing user with sync permissions will need to reconnect the sync.


    Reactivate a user

    We're currently rolling out a fresh new look for our Settings page, so you may see one of 2 designs. Please follow the steps that match what your Settings page looks like.

    1. Select Settings

    2. Select Users under the Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: Settings Page


    3. Select Show Inactive Users at the bottom of the page

    4. Select the name of the user being reactivated

    5. Select the Undelete icon

        OR

      1. Select Settings

      2. Select Users under the Roles & Permissions section if your Settings page looks like this: New Settings Page

      3. Select Show Inactive Users at the bottom of the page

      4. Select the name of the user being reactivated

      5. Select the Restore icon


      Things to know

      • If a deactivated user is a default approver listed in an approval policy or has unapproved bills/vendor credits assigned to them, an Administrator will be sent a notification via the To Do List to fix the records after a User has been deactivated
      • For auditing purposes, inactivated users cannot be completely removed from your account, but they'll no longer be able to access your account or receive notifications
      • A deactivated user's email address can't be used for a new user. New users should be added with a unique email address.