QuickBooks Desktop sync error: The account number is already in use

Why the sync error occurs

When saving an accounts list, an error indicates that the account number is in use. This error is caused by a duplicate account in Bill.com and Quickbooks.

How to fix the sync error

Merge the duplicate accounts. When merging, keep the record that contains the integration ID.

  1. Select Settings
  2. Select Chart of Accounts under Accounting
  3. Select Merge Duplicates
  4. Select the checkboxes for the two accounts that need to be merged
    • Note: Only two duplicates can be merged at a time. Multiple records require multiple merges.
  5. After selecting the accounts, a comparison table is displayed with the record information to choose which data from each account to retain
  6. Select Merge to merge all payment information into one account, preserving the selected information
  7. After completing the merge, run a sync

Things to know

If there's no duplicate account, follow these alternate steps to fix the issue in QuickBooks:

  1. In QuickBooks, add an asterisk to the account name
  2. Run a sync to pull the account into Bill.com
  3. Merge the duplicate accounts in Bill.com (following the instructions above) and keep the record that synced from QuickBooks with the asterisk in the account name
  4. After the sync completes successfully, remove the asterisk from the account name