QuickBooks Desktop sync error: An attempt was made to modify a <transaction> with a date that is on or before the closing date of the company

Why the sync error occurs

This error occurs when a bill or payment update is trying to sync from Bill.com to QuickBooks, but it's dated on or before the closing date in QuickBooks. When a Close Date and Password are set in QuickBooks, the password is required for changes that alter the balances for the closed accounting period.

How to fix the sync error

You can open the period in QuickBooks and sync again, but we don't recommended this option as we are unable to know in advance if any other transactions will sync into the closed period along with the one you intend to sync. If you do choose this route, have a QuickBooks Administrator remove the Closing Date password, then sync again to clear the error.

Alternatively, you can manually update the bill or payment in QuickBooks when logged in as an Administrator. QuickBooks requires that a user with Admin privileges enters a password. When completed, contact Customer Support to request that we mark the update made to the transaction in Bill.com not to sync.

Check the Audit Trail for the update

To find what update is trying to sync, you can check the audit trail of the transaction.

Bills

  1. Select Bills in the navigation menu
  2. Select the invoice number of the bill you wish to review
  3. Select More actions
  4. Select View audit trail

Payments

  1. Select Payments Out in the navigation menu
  2. Select the payment confirmation number of the bill you wish to review
  3. Select More actions
  4. Select View audit trail