Payment cancelation and void cut-off timing for ACH and check payments

Canceling a Payables payment

The following applies to both ePayments and check payments:

  • Payments scheduled before 3:00 pm Pacific Time / 6:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the process date can be canceled before 4:00 pm Pacific Time / 7:00 pm Eastern Time on the bank business day before the process date
  • Payments scheduled after 3:00 pm Pacific Time / 6:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the process date can be canceled before 6:00 pm Pacific Time / 9:00 pm Eastern Time on the bank business day before the process date
    • Ex 1: If scheduling a payment on a Monday at 2:59 pm Pacific Time / 5:59 pm Eastern Time with a Tuesday process date, the payment can be canceled up to 4:00 pm Pacific Time / 7:00 pm Eastern Time on Monday
    • Ex 2: If scheduling a payment on a Monday at 3:01 pm Pacific Time / 6:01 pm Eastern Timewith a Tuesday process date, the payment can be canceled up to 6:00 pm Pacific Time / 9:00 pm Eastern Time on Monday
    • Ex 3: If scheduling a payment on a Friday for a Process Date of Tuesday, and Monday is a bank holiday, the payment would need to be cancelled by the Friday before, based on the time frames listed above
  • Expedited payments (pay faster) can be canceled before 12:00 pm Pacific Time / 3:00 pm Eastern Time

Voiding a Payables payment

To void a payment, your role must have Pay permissions, and you must be a verified user on the bank account originally used for the payment. You must be logged in to the desktop website to void payments, you cannot void payments in the mobile app.

If you are going to reissue a voided payment, be sure to make any necessary changes to the vendor, such as pay to, address, email address, etc. before reissuing.

ePayments

  • An ePayment can be voided after 1:00 am Pacific Time / 4:00 am Eastern Time on the Process Date and before 1:00 pm Pacific Time / 4:00 pm Eastern Time on the bank business day before the deposit date (no action can be taken between 2:00 pm Pacific Time / 5:00 pm Eastern Time on the bank business day before the Process date and 1:00 am Pacific Time / 4:00 am Eastern Time on the Process date)
    • Voiding the ePayment will not prevent the debit from your bank account

Checks

  • After 1:00 am Pacific Time / 4:00 am Eastern Time on the Process Date, a check can only be voided, and only if it has not already been cashed by the vendor (no action can be taken between 6:00 pm Pacific Time / 9:00 pm Eastern Time on the bank business day before the Process date and 1:00 am Pacific Time / 4:00 am Eastern Time on the Process date)
    • Voiding the check will not prevent the debit from your bank account because the payment has already processed
  • If there is a check # on the payment confirmation screen, the check has already been mailed out to your vendor
  • Voiding a check will place a Stop Payment on the check
    • A check with a Stop Payment on it will be rejected when presented at the bank
    • As a courtesy to the vendor, please inform them that the check is not longer valid in order to prevent any fees from their bank that might incur if they attempt to cash it
  • Checks can be voided until they have been cashed by your vendor (and cleared by the vendor's bank)
  • All checks are printed with the words "Void after 90 days". On the 91st day after the date of issue, the check will be voided and the funds will be deposited back to the payment account.

Receivables ePayments

  • A Receivables payment made from a portal account, (your Branded Website address), before 3:00 pm Pacific Time / 6:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the payment date can be canceled before 4:00 pm Pacific Time / 7:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the Payment Date
  • A Receivables payment made from a portal account, (your Branded Website address), after 3:00 pm Pacific Time / 6:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the payment date can be canceled before 6:00 pm Pacific Time / 9:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the Payment Date
    • If a Receivables payment from a portal account is canceled, no debit will be made to the customer's account
  • Receivables payments made from another Bill.com account, customer is connected via the Network and the customer profile has a Payment Network ID (PNI), cannot be canceled by the receiver. Payments made from another Bill.com account will need to be canceled by the payer
    • If the receiving business cancels these types of payments, it is only cosmetic. This type of void will not stop money movement.

Things to know

  • Vendors and customers do not receive notice when a payment is canceled or voided
  • The timing of when a void and credit is received varies, because the original debit from your bank account may not have settled in our account
    • A credit may take 2-5 business days from the date of the void request, depending on when the funds were debited from your account