Delete or reactivate a user

If you need to remove a user from your Bill.com account so they no longer have access to sensitive financial data, or restore access to a previously deactivated user, use the steps below. You can also restore users if needed.

You must have manage users permissions to deactivate or reactivate a user, and you cannot delete yourself. You must ask another user with permission to delete your user profile using the steps below.

Jump to:


Deactivate a user

  1. Select Settings
  2. Under Permissions, select Users
  3. Select the name of the user
  4. Select the Delete icon

Note: If you deactivate the user who setup your sync, an existing user with sync permissions will need to reconnect the sync.


Reactivate a user

  1. Select Settings
  2. Under Permissions, select Users
  3. Select Show Inactive Users at the bottom of the page
  4. Select the name of the user being reactivated
  5. Select the Undelete icon

Things to know

  • If a deactivated user is a default approver listed in an approval policy or has unapproved bills/vendor credits assigned to them, an Administrator will be sent a notification via the To Do List to fix the records after a User has been deactivated
  • For auditing purposes, inactivated users cannot be completely removed from your account, but they will no longer be able to access your account or receive notifications
  • A deactivated user's email address can't be used for a new user. New users should be added with a unique email address.