Add, edit, delete or restore a customer

To add, edit, delete or restore a customer, your role must include the permission to Manage Customers.

Jump to:

Add a customer

  1. Select Customers in the navigation menu
    • Selecting import your customers will:
      • Redirect to the sync setup page if an accounting software we integrate with was selected for the account
      • Redirect to our Import/Export tool to import the customer list via .CSV if no accounting software was selected or an accounting software we don't integrate with was selected for the account
  2. Select Add customer
  3. Enter the customer's information
  4. Select Save

Note: When you add a new customer, their payment method will show as Mail Check until you add their bank account or credit card to charge them, or they create a portal account and add a bank account or credit card to pay you.


Edit a customer

  1. Select Customers in the navigation menu
  2. Select the customer name you'd like to edit
  3. Select Edit
  4. Edit the customer's information
  5. Select Save

Delete (inactivate) a customer

  1. Select Customers in the navigation menu
  2. Select the Customer's name to delete
  3. Select More actions next to the customer's name
  4. Select Delete customer
  5. Select Confirm

For auditing purposes, inactivated customers can't be completely removed from your account.


Restore (undelete) a customer

  1. Select Customers in the navigation menu
  2. Select the more options dots ⋮
  3. Select Show inactive
  4. Select the name of the inactive customer
  5. Select Undelete

Things to know

  • If you sync with an accounting software, we highly suggest not manually importing customers via CSV into Bill.com, unless they don't exist in your accounting software at all, to avoid duplicates and sync errors