QuickBooks Desktop sync error: The transaction could not be locked. It is in use by another user.
Why the sync error occurs
This error occurs when the transaction being modified in QuickBooks is already in use by another user or the QuickBooks database has temporarily locked the transaction from editing or updates. It's how the system protects multiple users from modifying the same transaction at the same time.
How to fix the sync error
The first step is to see if other users in QuickBooks are editing transactions. If so, request that they complete their editing. Once the edits are saved, try to sync again. If you continue to see the error, switch the company file to single-user mode, close QuickBooks, and sync again.